top of page
Search
  • gracebruinooge

Resolutions in conflict

Updated: Apr 10, 2021

Conflict can make things surface that would normally stay under wraps, fester, and create larger problems in the long run if they are not talked about and resolved. A lot of times, conflict is something that we naturally avoid, especially in a workplace. It can be embarrassing, scary, or intimidating speaking up about something that is going wrong at work to a superior. In my workplace, I have not had much conflict, but I have seen conflict between others, and it is always dealt with only by the people who are involved, and it allows them to speak about their perspectives and what their problems are. When both sides are heard, they can come to an agreement over the problem, find a way to fix the problem, and apologize if wrong-doing has been done.


I believe understanding position is the most important part of resolving conflict, because it is where the conflict actually resides. In each person’s unique perspective, people experience things differently, and if someone is unable to express their position, nothing will be done and assumptions will be made.


Personally, I tend to cast conflict away in my workplace, because I know the small conflicts I experience are very minor and don’t last especially long. I am a very understanding person, so I know what it is like to be frustrated and say things that come off as rude, when I don't mean to be rude. If the only conflict that I am experiencing in my workplace is a few back-handed statements every now and then, I am doing fine.


It is so important to bring serious conflicts to light and to create a space in a workplace where people feel encouraged to express their positions and perspectives on conflicts. It is imperative to creating a cohesive and healthy workplace.


03/08/21

7 views
bottom of page